History of the College

The College of Education Waka-Biu (formally Advanced Teachers' College, Waka-Biu) was established vide Borno State Edit No. 4 of 1986. It was commissioned on 21st October, 1986 by the then Military Governor of Borno State, Lt. Col. Abdulmumini Aminu.

The initial Staff/Student enrollment was 25 Academic Staff, 7 Senior Non-Academic Staff, 85 Junior staff and 351 students. This has steadily grown over the years bringing the current statistic to 131 academic staff, 257 Non-Academic staff and 5006 students respectively.

The College turned out its first set of NCE Graduates (68 in number) in 1989 and was ranked first in Academic standard among the seven colleges of Education then affiliated to University of Maiduguri. In 1993, the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) took over the supervision of all colleges of Education in the Country, bringing to an end of year of Affiliation to the University.

Prior to 1995, the curriculum was science oriented. But in 1995, courses in the art and social science discipline were introduced. The philosophy of producing highly qualified NCE Teachers for our Primary institutions in line with the National policy on Education, has however remain unchanged.

Since inception, in 1986, the College had six Chief Executives. The pioneer principal /provost was Mr. Gana Dibal (1986-1990). He was succeeded by Alhaji Ahmed H. Godowali in August 1990, while Mr. Tuksa Mdrimbita succeeded Alh. Godowali in 1994. Dr. Suleiman Bello Succeeded Mr. Mdrimbita in September 1994, Dr Bukar Abdullahi took over the mantle of leadership from Dr. Bello on 6th October 1998. He was succeeded by Mustapha Shettima who served in an acting capacity from August 2002 before he was confirmed as substantive provost in may 2003. He was replaced by the incumbent Usman Mustapha as Acting provost in September 2004 and was confirmed as substantive provost in 2008.

Our Vision

The Vision of the College of Education Waka-Biu

Our Mission

The Mission of the College of Education Waka-Biu